Minnesota Secretary Of State - State Canvassing Board Certifies Results of the Recounts in House Districts 3A and 3B
Skip to main content

News Room Archive

News Room

State Canvassing Board Certifies Results of the Recounts in House Districts 3A and 3B

December 15, 2022

Results in both races remain unchanged

SAINT PAUL - On December 15, Secretary of State Steve Simon reconvened the State Canvassing Board to review the canvass report for the recounts in House Districts 3A and 3B from the 2022 General Election and certify the results.

“Recounts are one of the features of our elections that gives us confidence the system worked properly on election day and in the days following,” said Secretary Simon. “While recounts are vital for accountability, they can be a daunting task during an already busy time of year. I'm grateful for the service of each Minnesotan who stepped up in these districts before, during, and after the election to ensure that their community received accurate, trustworthy election results.”

The outcome for both the House District 3A and 3B contests remains the same. In the House District 3A contest, the recount found a reduction of one vote for each candidate. In the House District 3B contest, the recount found an increase of one vote for one candidate and three votes for the other.

Complete recount results are available here.

State law allows for apparent losing candidates to request a recount within a set time frame after the State Canvassing Board certifies the election result. To receive a publicly funded recount, the difference between candidates seeking federal office, state constitutional office, or judicial office must be less than 0.25 percent; candidates seeking state legislative office must be less than 0.5 percent. If a candidate would like a recount for a contest that falls outside of these parameters, they can request a discretionary recount at their own expense.

About the State Canvassing Board

The State Canvassing Board is called pursuant to Article VII, Section 8 of the Constitution of the State of Minnesota, which states, “The returns of every election for officeholders elected statewide shall be made to the secretary of state who shall call to his assistance two or more of the judges of the supreme court and two disinterested judges of the district courts. They shall constitute a board of canvassers to canvass the returns and declare the result within three days after the canvass.”

Secretary of State Simon extended his thanks to the Justices and Judges who agreed to serve on this canvassing board to certify the election results: G. Barry Anderson, Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court; Paul C. Thissen, Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court; David L. Knutson, Judge, First Judicial District Court; and Arlene Perkkio, Judge, First Judicial District Court.